Update from Calvary Chapel Rio de Janeiro

29 02 2008

We would like to thank you, our faithful brethren, for your prayers and love for us in Rio de Janeiro. We see the fruit of your labor in prayer on our behalf and we are excited to share with you some of the ways God has been meeting our needs. Please do, in the same token, share with us. In fact, one of the subscribers to our newsletter expressed how they have been encouraged to see what God is accomplishing here. Our Lord truly does cause “all things to work together for good for those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.” (Romans 8:28) Thank you for your love and prayers!

1 John 4:18 “My little children, let us not love in word or in tongue, but in deed and in truth.”

Carnaval Retreat

Traditionally all of the Calvary Chapel churches in Brazil would journey to Campo Mourão to escape the Carnaval festivities of the busy cities. While the rest of the country celebrated, we would experience the quietude of the Lord, redirecting our focus to Jesus.

This year however, the Lord provided a special place for Calvary Chapel Rio de Janeiro to retreat to. Although we did not travel outside of Rio, we did find a location up in the mountains in a district called Jararepagua. This location proved to be quite the blessing for our church because it was more affordable overall. This allowed for as many as 30 members of our congregation, which is nearly all of us, to attend the retreat. As an added bonus, the Reyes family brought their labrador Hulk to make friends with the rabbit, or better yet, torment the poor thing!

Throughout the retreat, the Holy Spirit worked in a very powerful way bringing forgiveness, healing, and ministering to our hearts. Some of the teachings featured Pastor Alexandre’s message about the Sermon on the Mount, and morning devotionals shared by Cleber, Helder, Hudson and Aline. Although this was our first church retreat in Rio, it proved to be a great encouragement to all who attended. Now join us as we pray and anticipate the next retreat for the year to come!

Prayer Requests 

We are still in search for a new church building. As our church is located above three flights of stairs, we hope to acquire a building with easier access for those who find it difficult, if not impossible, to face the physical challenge of reaching the top. Not only this, but our church body is growing in number, which means that soon we will not be able to fit everyone on the third floor. Please pray for financial provision so that we can purchase a much-needed church building. With prayer and financial support we will be able to effectively minister to all who desire to enter the Lord’s house.

Please keep Fabiana in prayer as she returns to bible college in Campo Mourão.

Pray for Cleber and Hudson, two of our faithful servants of the church. They are experiencing financial difficulty.

Pray that they would find employment soon.

Pray that the Lord would bless Pastor Alexandre and Lilian (who is four months pregnant) with a healthy pregnancy.

And lastly, pray that the Lord would continue to transform the lives of those whom He has called to His church.

Outreach

If you, or anyone you know, is interested in sending a team to minister to our church here in Rio de Janeiro, please send an email to Pastor Alexandre (alexandreforjesus@hotmail.com). We welcome you to our church!

God Bless You!

Pictures







Actions

Information

4 responses

7 03 2008
Teka Ellis

Hello,
I am going to visit my family in Rio, during Easter.
I would like to know wha time is the service and where exactly on Rua Sao Clemente.
I am staying with my brother on Rua da Matriz.
I tried to call but could not get through. Do you have another phone number?
Thanks and God Bless

Teka

22 05 2008
JOE RIVERA

UNQUENCHABLE THIRST

From that magical moment of birth, we all set out on a life consuming quest to satisfy an unquenchable thirst for fulfillment. It was then that we filled our little lungs with air; oh, what an overwhelming experience that must of been! In fact, we loved it so much that we have never intentionally stopped doing it.
Then came our need for nourishment and comfort, which in turn triggered a God inspired train reaction of magical events We instantly learned a beautiful reality, which was that the inhaled air (filled with oxygen) in our lungs not only insured a healthy body, but we could use the exhaled (void of oxygen) air to stimulate our little vocal cords and have our needs met. David the great Psalmist of Israel was so right on when he pinned this revelation of his God and maker “ I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully made; Wonderful are your works, my soul knows it very well (Psa. 139:14).”
You see, it only took a mere whimper and our world stood at our command. Mom would come running into the room and filled our empty tummies or some one would answer the call and have our soiled diapers changed, and to add icing on the cake, the louder we cried, the higher people jumped. It seemed that life couldn’t get any better.
THE WORLD WAS OUR STAGE
Then it did get better; can you remember your adolescence years? You know, the year when mom & dad were placed on the back burner and now it was all about that prince charming/goddess who sat next to you in class. Wow, if I could just get her to notice me and maybe fall madly in love (our limited knowledge of it) with me. Then this unquenchable thirst would be filled and for a season it did just that. But sadly, some one ended up with their first broken heart and OUCH, it sure did hurt.
Somehow we overcame that tragic event and we once again began to fearlessly pursue that one thing that would truly fill that darn void.
Life seemed like a smorgasbord and for many years we lusted and partook of its pleasures without measure.
SOWING & REAPING
But, blinded by our carnal passion, we failed to see that these reckless actions that were being sown would one day produce an unmerciful harvest of regret (“Do not be deceived (tricked,cheated,mislead), God is not mocked; for whatever a man sows, this will he will also reap (Gal.6:7).”
For many that moment did arrive when we ended up in a bankruptcy, divorce, criminal court or even worst; standing at the pinnacle of one’s game and sadly still having that monstrous void. But we were not the only ones affected by our misdirected ways. You see, for some, the day arrived when a bitter and unforgiving adult stood at the door and exclaimed “You will never truly understand how much pain and agony I endured as a child. As parents you were supposed to be my safe haven. You were so consumed in your mess; that you didn’t even notice that I was left to fend for myself!” Please don’t think for a moment this only happens to the children of low life drug/alcoholic parents!” No, many are the children of low life corporate officers, low life professionals and every day low life people who like the drug addicted parent have chosen to travel on the low (self gratifying, ego-centric) road of life. There was no victory celebration to be found at roads end, only that unmerciful foe, who like quicksand was once again pulling it’s victims into that ever-demanding void.
All IS VANITY
May we take heed and learn from Solomon who was the wealthiest king of Israel in Biblical times, whose personal journey led him to write the following words of wisdom , he says; “I explored with my mind how to stimulate my body with wine…….I built houses for myself, I planted vineyards for myself, I made gardens and parks for myself and planted in them all kinds of fruit trees. Also, I collected for myself silver and gold and the treasure of Kings and provinces. I provided for myself male and female singers and the pleasures of men – many concubines.
Then I became great and increased more than all who preceded me Jerusalem. All that my eyes desired I did not refuse them. I did not withhold my heart for any pleasure.
Thus I considered all my activities which my hands had done and the labor which I exerted, and behold all was vanity (worthless) and striving after the wind and there was no profit under the sun (read Eccl. Chapter 2).”
CONCLUSION & SOUTION
King Solomon writes in closing “The conclusion, when all has been heard: fear (reverence) God and keep His commandments, because this applies to every person (Eccl. 12:13).”
You see, my friends, recovery began when we stopped striving after the shifting winds of worldly opinions , Only then we’re able to refocused and fixed our eyes on Him who is our sole source of spiritual fulfillment. King David, Solomon’s father understood this truth and writes “I stretch forth my hands unto thee: My soul thirsts after Thee, as a thirsty land, Selah (Psa. 143:6).” Be encouraged (courage pumped into you) by God’s promises to those who seek Him “For I will pour water upon him that is thirsty, and floods upon the dry ground: I will pour My Spirit upon your seed (* writer’s insert – your children – don’t forget that kid at the door) and My blessings upon your offspring; And they will spring up among the grass’, Like poplars (trees) by the streams of water.’ This one will say, ‘I (*writer’s insert – I belong to) am the Lords….. (Isaiah 44:3-5a).”

Are you tired of trying to quench your thirsty soul with things that never have and never will satisfy? If that’s you, then lift up your weary head, take a deep breath and fill your lungs with life giving air, now stimulate your vocal cords as you exhale and ask your Father to fill your empty cup from that well that never runs dry.

Your friend always on the journey

Rev. Joe A. Rivera
Temecula, Ca
05/19/08

28 08 2008
Lori Pillow

What a beautiful church family I see in these pictures! I am crying happy tears to see a little Calvary in Rio! I have precious friends in Rio, and I know the need there is so urgent for sound doctrine. We are rejoicing here in Downey, CA, USA to hear about your church. Now not only do I have friends in Rio, but Calvary family =) God bless you and your work, and I pray God puts a hedge of protection around your family and the families of everyone in your church. That He would give you great territory and all the gifts and resources needed to be strong, vibrant, joyful in this time of growth. Please pray for my friends Cris and Gabi who are thinking about coming to your church. They need a safe place to fellowship and grow.

Wishing you every good blessing,
Lori

1 09 2011
serena samsel

hi. i live in hamamatsu, japan and have a brazilian friend who is looking for a brazilian church in the nagoya/okazaki area. do you know of any japanese brazilians who may have lived in japan or who are currently living in japan and could recommend a brazilian church for them? all the churches that they have found so far are churches that are off-base (not adhering to the scriptures). thank u so much!!
-serena

Leave a comment